School Board Elects 21-22 Officers

DeSoto ISD School Board Elects 21-22 School Board Officers
Posted on 05/27/2021
This is the image for the news article titled  DeSoto ISD School Board Elects 21-22 School Board Officers

During the Monday, May 24, 2021, DeSoto ISD regular board meeting, trustees nominated and elected the 2021-22 board officers.

The Board of Trustees named Trustee DeAndrea Fleming the school board president and Trustee Dr. Tiffany Clark was elected vice-president. Trustee Abe Cooper Jr. was re-elected to serve as board secretary.

About Board President DeAndrea Fleming

President DeAndrea Fleming, who served as the Board vice president during her previous term on the Board, is a 2020 Leadership TASB Master Trustee who is committed to creating the best outcomes for students and staff including ensuring that the district has a stable financial position to build a stronger DeSoto ISD. As she continues in her role this term, she desires to keep children first in every decision made and help to ensure DeSoto ISD has the opportunities and the environment to thrive academically and socially.

In an earlier statement, Fleming expressed, “The community elected me to serve as a key advocate for education within the community and with local, state, and federal policymakers in all efforts to change the trajectory of the lives of students and I will continue to carry the torch of this commitment.”

Fleming has 19 years of experience in education. She is a graduate of the University of Houston with a Bachelor of Business Administration in Marketing with a minor in African American Studies. She also holds three master’s degrees: Education Administration from Prairie View A&M University, and dual Masters of Education Degrees in Training and Development and Education Technology from Texas A&M University-Commerce. She is also pursuing a Doctorate of Education in K-12 Education Leadership at Dallas Baptist University. Fleming is a proud member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

About Board Vice President Dr. Tiffany Clark 

Dr. Clark, born and raised in DeSoto, attended DeSoto schools and graduated from DHS in 2007. After earning her Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from the University of Houston, Clark came back to DeSoto and took her first job at West MS, where she worked as a science teacher, focusing on STEM participation. She continued her education at UNT with a Master’s in Education, concentration on School and Community Counseling and currently works as a counselor in  Dallas ISD. Tiffany completed her Doctorate in Education degree with a concentration in Conflict Resolution – focusing her research on African-American female principals who are transformational leaders in Title 1, low-poverty, schools with exceptional teacher retention rates in the state of Texas at Abilene Christian University. When not devoting time to students, Tiffany is actively engaged as a proud member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. (Upsilon Lambda Omega, DeSoto, TX). She is a faithful and proud member of Friendship-West Baptist Church under the leadership of Dr. Frederick D. Haynes III.

About Board Secretary Abe Cooper, Jr.

Board Secretary Abe Cooper, Jr., will serve in the capacity of Board Secretary for the second year in a row.

As a DeSoto resident for more than 22 years, Cooper has been actively engaged in service to the DeSoto ISD school community as a volunteer at DeSoto West Middle School as a part of the former Male Leadership Program and the DeSoto Eagles Football team’s chaplain.

Cooper is a graduate of Dallas ISD’s South Oak Cliff High School who obtained a Bachelor of Science degree from Paul Quinn College. His career in education includes serving as a Physical Education teacher at K. B. Polk Elementary Vanguard in Dallas ISD. Cooper also earned a Master of Arts in Christian Leadership in Criswell College of Biblical Studies in 2004 and now is the senior pastor of Elijah Fellowship Community Church in DeSoto. Cooper is also a member of the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. (Alpha Phi Alpha Lambda Graduate chapter) and serves as a board member for TEL International Missionary Society.