Back to School Information

DeSoto ISD is excited to reconnect with students, families, and staff this upcoming school year. The first day of school for the 2023-2024 school year will be Monday, August 14, 2023. Below is a list of resources to help prepare for the 23-24 academic year:



Early Childhood
7:45am  -  3:35pm
Amber Terrace Early Childhood Learning Center

Elementary Campuses
7:45am  -  3:35pm
Cockrell Hill   |   Woodridge Fine Arts Academy

8:00am  -  3:50pm
The Meadows   |   Frank D. Moates

Specialized Campuses
8:00am  -  3:50pm
Katherine Johnson Technology Magnet Academy
Ruby Young Personalized STEAM Academy

Secondary Campuses
8:30am  -  4:20pm
Curtistene McCowan Middle School Fine Arts Academy
DeSoto West Middle School
DeSoto West Male Leadership Academy

7:30am  -  3:20pm
DeSoto High School

7:30am  -  3:30pm
DeSoto Alternative Education Program


Seventh through twelfth graders are eligible to participate in University Interscholastic League (UIL) competitive athletics. All students must have physicals, parental acknowledgment forms, and emergency information on file before the first practice. 


All DeSoto ISD students are expected to follow the guidelines of student behavior as outlined in the DeSoto ISD Student Code of Conduct. Update coming soon.


In the event or inclement weather, DeSoto ISD officials will notify the media prior to 6 a.m. on the day in question. In addition, the district utilizes a parent alert system to call and/or e-mail all DeSoto ISD families.

Campus Contact Information

Cockrell Hill Elementary School (PK-2)
Principal: Sissy Lowe 
425 S. Cockrell Hill Rd., DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: 972-230-1692

Woodridge Elementary School (PK-2)
Principal: Demitree Tatum
1001 Woodridge, DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: 972-223-3800

Frank Moates Elementary School (3-5)
Principal: Angela Robinson
1500 Heritage Blvd., Glenn Heights, TX 75154
Phone: 972-230-2881

The Meadows Elementary School (3-5)
Principal: Dina Jammer
1016 The Meadows Pkwy., DeSoto TX 75115
Phone: 972-224-0960

Katherine Johnson Technology Magnet Academy

Principal: Dr. Michelle Neely
1200 Academy Way, DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: (972) 274-8026

Ruby Young Elementary School (K-8)
Principal: Monica Smith
707 Young Blvd., DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: 972-223-6505

Curtistene S. McCowan Middle School 
Principal: Dr. Kelli McWashington
1500 Majestic Meadows Dr., Glenn Heights, TX 75154
Phone: 972-274-8090

West Middle School
Principal: Metric Manning
800 N. Westmoreland Rd., DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: 972-230-1820

DeSoto High School
Principal: Jasen Campbell
600 Eagle Dr., DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: 972-230-0726

Alternative Education Program
Principal: Homer Webb III
204 E. Belt Line Rd., DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: 972-223-2242