DeSoto ISD Announces New Academic Leaders

DeSoto ISD Announces New Academic Leaders
Posted on 07/22/2021
This is the image for the news article titled DeSoto ISD Announces New Academic Leaders

As DeSoto ISD prepares to kick off a new and exciting school year, the district has a number of new leaders in place to spearhead the academic progress and success of students and staff.


“Following the spring’s restructuring, we had a number of transitions and positions that were initiated to improve our system and provide better support for the students we serve,” DeSoto ISD Superintendent of Schools Dr. D’Andre Weaver said. “In order for us to achieve the goals of the Board and realize the vision set forth in our new strategic plan, we have structured our organization to meet the unique needs of our school community. As a result, I am confident in the talent recruited to our district and am excited about the work these new members to our team will provide.” 

Dr. Mya Asberry                      Chief Academic Officer

Joey Jones                                 Chief Financial Officer


Deidre Hannible                       Deputy Chief Academic Officer


Wendy Simpson-Tate             Executive Director of Elementary Core Curriculum, PD & Grants

Dr. Jermaine Wilson                Executive Director of Student Support Services

Dr. Kendahl Owoh                   Executive Director of Special Populations

Shon Joseph                              Executive Director of Operations


Dr. Jaime Kovar                        Director of Fine Arts & Secondary Advanced Academics

Kieshla Coleman                      Director of Early Learning

Bridget Nevels                          Director of Student Support Services

Claude Mathis                          Director of Athletics


Angela Batiste                         Early College High School Associate Principal


Tarsha Lunkin                          0-3 Early Learning Coordinator

Shanta Duren                           Next Gen Lead Content Coach

Leon Darden                            Student Support Services Coordinator

Eduardo Conde                       Communications Coordinator

Rena Thomas                           A2E2 Coordinator



Dr. Jerri A. Johnson                            Woodridge Elementary

Dr. Ysanne Williams-Canidate           The Meadows Elementary

Dina Jammer                                      Cockrell Hill Elementary

Angela Robinson                                Frank Moates Elementary

Dr. Michelle Neely                             Katherine Johnson TMA

Noel Greenwood                                Ruby Young Personalized STEM Academy

Dr. Edmond  Henderson II                 West Middle School

Dr. Kelli McWashington                     McCowan Middle School

Monica Smith                                     DeSoto High School

Homer Webb III                                  District Alternative Education Program