2022 Hall of Honor Nomination

DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor Nominations Open
Posted on 01/28/2022
This is the image for the news article titled DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor Nominations Open

DeSoto ISD developed the DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor in 2012 to recognize alumni and those who have provided meritorious service to the district.  With the opening of the newly constructed academy and fine arts wings at DeSoto High School, and consideration of naming conventions for each, the district realized the importance of recognizing the large number of outstanding alumni, staff and community members who had contributed to its success over the years.  

Hall of Honor recognitions are considered in two areas:  Alumni Hall of Fame (for DHS graduates) and Distinguished Service Award (for staff and community members).  A diverse team of current and former staff, parents, alum, and community leaders comprise the selection committee reviewing the nominations, scoring each using the rubric listed on the district web page.  Nominations are scored strictly from the data listed on the nomination form, and those with scores reaching the designated mark are invited to be inducted into the Hall of Honor.  2022 marks the 10th anniversary of the Hall of Honor celebration!

Past inductees have included a Hall of Fame coach, an Academy Award winner, and a Super Bowl MVP in the Alumni Hall of Fame, as well as outstanding teachers, influential politicians and distinguished professionals serving the community for the Distinguished Service Award.

Thousands of educators, parents, community supporters, business people and elected officials have made significant contributions to the development and improvement of DeSoto ISD. 

DeSoto High School has graduated thousands of people with rewarding careers, individuals who touch the lives of others - from artists, elected officials, and CEOs, to doctors, lawyers and entrepreneurs. 

Celebrate these individuals with a nomination to the DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor.

Nominations are now open for the class of 2022!  Visit our website at www.DeSotoISD.org/HallOfHonor for more information or to access the nomination form.  Deadline for submission is Tuesday, March 15.




2012 - Ellis Hobbs, III
2012 - Sgt. Jason Brown (posthumously)

2012 - Laura Dooley
2012 - Dr. Janice Pettis Ingram
2012 - Judy Moss

2013 - Mark Brady
2013 - James P. Monkres, Jr.

2013 - Shirley Cooper
2013 - Frank Moates

2014 - David Plott
2014 - Casey Printers

2014 - Pamela DeBorde
2014 - Kathy Goad

2015 - Rachel Proctor
2015 - Mike Humphreys

2015 - Kathryn 'Kitty' Hickerson
2015 - Bill Hickey  (posthumously)
2015 - Melvlyn 'Sissy' Lowe
2015 - Dr. Peggy Trammell

2016 - Dr. Jelani Ingram
2016 - Warren Seay Jr. 
2016 - Rachel Thomas
2016 - Christopher Vinson (posthumously)

2016 - Karen Daniel
2016 - Chris Dyer
2016 - Beth Wright

2017 -  Chief Fred Hart, Jr.
2017 -  Rick Jaffa
2017 - June Villers
2017 - Byron Hanspard, Sr.
2017 - Ro Parish

2017 - Lynne Kornegay
2017 - Mika Malone
2017 - Kanina Johnson
2017 - Aubrey C. Hooper
2017 - Sharon Sternes (posthumously) 

2018 - Von Miller

 2018 - Dr. Cheyrl Ensley
 2018 - Mayor Curtistene McCowan 
 2018 - Jan McDaniel


 2019 - Coach Larry Goad
 2019 - Howard McDaniel


 2020 - Donald Gant
 2020 - Linda Murphree

2021 - Zachary Orr
2021 - Amanda Sargent

 2021 - Dr. Becky Sheppard