McCowan Middle School Honors Scholars

Curtistene S. McCowan Middle School Honors National Junior Honor Society Scholars
Posted on 02/11/2022
This is the image for the news article titled Curtistene S. McCowan Middle School Honors National Junior Honor Society Scholars

On January 26, 2022, Curtistene S. McCowan Middle School (CMMS) inducted and honored the campus’ first cohort of National Junior Honor Society scholars since 2019.


The National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) elevates a school’s commitment to the values of scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship. These five pillars have been associated with membership in the organization since its inception in 1929. 


Today, it is estimated that more than one million students participate in NJHS activities. NJHS chapters are found in all 50 states, US Territories, and around the world. Chapter membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service.

As such, NJHS chapters and students are in schools that care not only about student achievement, but also community engagement.

“As a campus, we are thrilled to have had the opportunity to recognize and honor these outstanding student leaders,” said CMMS Principal Dr. Kelli McWashington. “Despite the challenges of a pandemic, these students have continued to perform and serve as examples of excellence and high achievement among their peers and are truly deserving of this honor. To create this opportunity to induct this cohort of students speaks to the dedication and commitment of the families, teachers and staff we have supporting learning and academic success at CMMS.”


The ceremony honored the following CMMS eighth grade scholars:

  • Ozaya Anderson
  • Madyson Armstrong
  • Desiree Arzapalo Muniquia
  • Emmanuela Ayanugo
  • Lauren Beed
  • Isabella Booker
  • Kimora Carson
  • Aniya Coleman
  • Lauriane Coleman
  • Ryian Douglas
  • Fhenix Eans
  • Mykiaya Ford
  • Tateyana Fuller
  • Shiloh Gardner
  • Savanna Glaspie
  • Tatum Green
  • Timothy Jasso
  • Calen Johnson
  • Celeste Johnson
  • Sema’J Johnson
  • Ja’Von McCoy
  • Kelsey Milliner-Jones
  • Kori Moore
  • Haley Morenao
  • Kasidi Morgan
  • Tatyana Newton
  • Ja’Den Randle
  • Maurise Reed
  • Aiyana Nolen
  • Paige Smith
  • Sophia Villacorta
  • Ryan Walker
  • Aliyah Wheatley

To become a member of NJHS, students must be selected as a candidate by their campus chapter’s faculty council. Students who meet the cumulative Grade Point Average requirement are then considered for membership based on service, leadership, citizenship and character and may be asked to complete a candidate form created and distributed by the campus chapter.

Membership is determined by a majority vote of the faculty council, following an evaluation of candidates’ qualifications for membership. 

NJHS membership is an outstanding opportunity to develop the habits and standards relevant to students’ future readiness and success in high school, college, and a career. As an NJHS member, students have exclusive access to robust tools and resources such as:

  • college admission and financial aid planning options, including webinars and a mini-website called Honor Your Future Now, which students can access for college preparation tips and resources
  • help with financing college education through the NJHS Outstanding Achievement Award, which each year recognizes 500 exceptional NJHS members who best reflect the values of membership with a $500 college savings award
  • service projects, both by the chapter and individual, which allows students to build valuable life skills, including teamwork capabilities, hone project management aptitude, and develop friendships
  • leadership development, motivation, and inspiration gained through students’ chapter work as well as three LEAD Conferences and NJHS State Summits held in select locations annually.