Teacher Incentive Allotment

Teacher Incentive Allotment

The Teacher Incentive Allotment at DeSoto ISD

Created by the Texas Legislature as part of House Bill 3 in 2019, The Teacher Incentive Allotment (TIA) was established with a stated goal of a six-figure salary for teachers. TIA allotment funds help Texas school systems reward, retain, and recruit highly effective teachers and is a critical strategy for the district to live up to strategic plan commitment #4 to develop extraordinary people.

Through TIA, effective teachers are recognized on three different levels of designation. 

There are two pathways to designation:

  • National Board certified teachers are eligible to earn a recognized designation. Please email [email protected]
  • Teachers may earn designation through DeSoto ISD’s local designation system 

Each designation falls within a funding range and the exact amount of funding a designation teacher generates is determined by designation level and campus where the designated teacher works. The allotment funding per teacher is determined by a formula that considers the level of socioeconomic need at a campus and whether the campus is rural.

Allotment Levels

DeSoto ISD local designation system

Core content teachers with NWEA MAP and STAAR data during the 2021-22 school year are eligible for designation in phase 1 of implementation of TIA at DeSoto ISD. This includes the following courses:

  • Kindergarten through 8th Grade Math and Reading
  • 8th Grade Science & Social Studies
  • Algebra 1
  • Geometry
  • Algebra 2
  • English 1 - 4
  • Biology
  • US History

During the 2021-22 school year, the district will explore applying for additional teachers to be eligible for TIA funding during the 2022-23 school year. 

Designation will be determined each year by three core components: 

  • Teacher Observation
  • Student Growth
  • Student Perception (only grades 3-12)

Each year, teachers will be received an annual TIA scorecard and be submitted for designation when eligible. TIA designations are determined based on the TIA score, a weighted combination of the teacher appraisal weighted composite score, student growth composite score, and Panorama student experience composite score (when relevant). Designations are valid for five years as long as teachers remain in the classroom and are not specific to grade level or content area. Teachers will be submitted for higher designation during the five year period if eligible, but will not be submitted for lower designation. 

Designated teachers will receive 90% of the generated allotment funds in one lump sum by August 31st of each year. The district will retain 10% of the TIA dollars to support district oversight of TIA and operations, as required by state statute.

Questions? Reach out to [email protected].