DeISD to Celebrate Staff Milestones, Retirees

DeSoto ISD to Celebrate 2024 Hall of Honor Inductees, Principal and Teachers of the Year, Milestones and Retirees
Posted on 05/17/2024
This is the image for the news article titled DeSoto ISD to Celebrate 2024 Hall of Honor Inductees, Principal and Teachers of the Year,  Milestones and Retirees

The DeSoto Independent School District is proud to host the district’s annual employee recognition  banquet on Friday, May 17, 2024, at the DeSoto High School Academy Cafeteria. The annual recognition ceremony, titled Cadence of Celebration, is an opportunity to recognize each year’s Hall of Honor Inductees, the Teachers of the Year, employee service milestones and retirees.

Teacher of the Year

The DeSoto Independent School District is proud to announce the district’s 2024 campus teachers of the year as nominated by their professional peers at each campus.

 The 2024 DeSoto ISD Teachers of the Year are as follows:

  • Early Childhood
  • Tiffany Moline, Amber Terrace Early Childhood Learning Center
  • Elementary
  • Janice Washington, Cockrell Hill Elementary School
  • Irene Chaney-Babino, The Meadows Elementary School
  • Lauren Stewart, Frank D. Moates Elementary School
  • Monay Freeman, Woodridge Fine Arts Elementary
  • Specialized Learning (K-8)
  • Lakesha  Jackson, Katherine Johnson Technology Magnet Academy
  • Shandreneka Perkins, Ruby Young Talented and Gifted Academy
  • Middle School 
  • Ashley Simpson, DeSoto West Middle School
  • Mary Moore, Curtistene S. McCowan Middle School
  • High School
  • Nikena Madison, DeSoto High School
  • General (K-12)
  • Brent Taylor, DeSoto Alternative Education Program

The campus teachers of the year have the opportunity to compete for the district’s  overall elementary and secondary teacher of the year award to be presented at the annual Cadence of Celebration, an employee awards and acknowledgement event to be held on May 17.


Principal of the Year

For the first time in several years, the District will recognize a Principal of the Year. Studies show that principals and their longevity are a key indicator of school and student achievement. This year, the district established an opportunity for principals to submit proposals for consideration of their appointment as Principal of the Year. In addition to the self-submitted proposals, principals’ performance as well as their school’s performance inclusive of student achievement data was considered in the naming of the district Principal of the Year.

With this in mind, the DeSoto ISD is proud to announce Principal Angela Robinson of Frank D. Moates Elementary has been named the District’s 2024 Principal of the Year.

About Principal Robinson:

Angela Robinson arrived to lead Moates in 2021 after serving as principal at Cockrell Hill Elementary since 2018. Prior to her arrival in DeSoto ISD, Robinson held a number of administrative appointments in the Lancaster Independent School District since 2013. 


Robinson is described as a forward-thinking leader with a track record of success for improving educational systems through strategic planning and program and curriculum development. Robinson’s body of experience with specialized expertise in elementary and bilingual education positions here to effectively serve Moates’ students, teachers and families.

Principal Robinson has a Bachelor of Science degree in Interdisciplinary Studies and a Master of Education in Educational Administration from Texas A&M Commerce.


Hall of Honor

Each year, the DeSoto ISD recognizes nominees in the categories of Distinguished Service and Alumni Hall of Fame. 

Distinguished Service Award (DSA) - Minimum 10 years of consistent contribution is required for nominees to be considered for the Distinguished Service recognition. Thousands of educators, parents, community supporters, business people and elected officials have made significant contributions to the development and improvement of DeSoto ISD.  Nominate these individuals to be celebrated through the DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor.

Alumni Hall of Fame (HOF) - Minimum 10 years since graduation is required for a nominee to be considered for Alumni Hall of Fame recognition (for 2023 Hall of Honor nominees must have graduated from DHS in 2012 or before).  DeSoto High School has graduated thousands of people with rewarding careers, individuals who touch the lives of others - from artists, elected officials, and CEOs, to doctors, lawyers and entrepreneurs. Celebrate their contributions through nomination to the DHS Alumni Hall of Fame.

The 2024 Hall of Honor Class Includes:

  • Distinguished Service Award: 
  • Scott Galloway - Former Athletic Trainer
  • Alumni Hall of Fame:
    • Kathy Maples Jones, Class of 1972
    • Judge Mike Jones, Class of 2001

Employee Milestone Awards

Each year, DeSoto ISD honors service milestones for its dedicated workforce. The milestones recognize acknowledge employees with the following years of service to date:

  • 5 Years
  • 10 Years
  • 15 Years
  • 20 Years
  • 25 Years
  • 30 Years
  • 35 Years
  • 40+ Years

Notable recognitions include Cockrell Hill Elementary Principal Melvlyn Sissy Lowe celebrating 30 years of service in DeSoto ISD and DeSoto High School Receptionist, Rayline Perkins celebrating 38 years of service to DeSoto ISD.

Retiree Acknowledgements

DeSoto ISD appreciates the service and contributions of its Eagles who chose to sunset their careers and transition to retirement to conclude their work in its school community.

Educators are among the most fundamentally necessary workers in the country. A career in education is a commitment to lifelong learning, patience, and creativity. Educators inspire, create, devote, explore, and reveal to their students and communities.

DeSoto ISD appreciates the many years of service of its retirees and their daily diligence.

We value you. We recognize you. We celebrate you.

2024 DeSoto ISD Retirees

  • Downs-Webb, Debra - Teacher, Desoto High School
  • Lynn, Linda - Counselor, DeSoto High School
  • Merryfield, Kimberly, Data Strategist, Research, Evaluation and Design
  • Perkins, Doris - Receptionist, DeSoto High School
  • Reed, Zerlina - Teacher, Amber Terrace Elementary School
  • Runnels, Sandra - Workroom Clerk, DeSoto High School

Thank you for committing your life's work to developing and shaping the future and helping our students SOAR!