DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor

DeSoto ISD developed the DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor in 2012 to recognize alumni and those who have provided meritorious service to the district. The criteria listed below will be used to measure candidates for the Hall for both categories - DHS Alumni Hall of Fame and DeSoto ISD Distinguished Service Award.

Videos of Ceremony and Inductees


Distinguished Service Award (DSA) - Minimum 10 years of consistent contribution is required for nominees to be considered for the Distinguished Service recognition. Thousands of educators, parents, community supporters, business people and elected officials have made significant contributions to the development and improvement of DeSoto ISD.  Nominate these individuals to be celebrated through the DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor.

Alumni Hall of Fame (HOF)
- Minimum 10 years since graduation is required for a nominee to be considered for Alumni Hall of Fame recognition (for 2023 Hall of Honor nominees must have graduated from DHS in 2012 or before).  DeSoto High School has graduated thousands of people with rewarding careers, individuals who touch the lives of others - from artists, elected officials, and CEOs, to doctors, lawyers and entrepreneurs. Celebrate their contributions through nomination to the DHS Alumni Hall of Fame.


Nomination submissions

All nominations will be submitted online.   You may download a draft word document to compile the required information for ease of submission. Download draft form here.  Nominations may be made by individuals or groups, or a person may self-nominate.  Only one nomination is required per person; multiple nominations for a single person will be combined and evaluated as a single score.

Click here to submit nomination.

Evaluation and grading
Nominations will be evaluated and graded by a designated selection committee.  The selection committee considers only the information included in the nomination without regard to individual familiarity with nominee (or lack thereof).  Therefore, nominations should be thoroughly researched prior to submission.  The selection is not based on popularity, so letters of support are not included in award scoring.

Each of the 4 designated criteria areas listed below is assigned a maximum value of 5 points with a maximum total of 20 points possible (see Grading Rubric). Nominations receiving a minimum total of 15 points will be inducted into the Hall of Honor.
1. Special achievements of nominee.
2. Awards or honors received by nominee.
3. Nominee’s community service activities
4. Special contributions to DeSoto High School/DeSoto ISD (DSA) or within their chosen field of endeavor (HOF).

Grading Rubric


1 -2 points

3 points

4-5 points

Special achievements of nominee


School or district wide achievements

City, DFW or County wide achievements including church, club or civic organization accomplishments

Life Saver recognition, Patented invention, National or State achievements, Demonstrated assistance to National or State recognized person or project

Awards or honors received by nominee


School or district recognition

City, DFW or County wide recognition

State or National recognition

Nominee’s community service activities


Held membership in 1 to 3 organizations supporting school or community.

Has served in a variety of volunteer groups, prevention programs, etc.; demonstrating a contribution to school OR community through their participation.

Has served in a wide variety of volunteer groups, prevention programs, etc.; demonstrating a contribution to school AND community through their participation.

Special contributions to DeSoto High School/DeSoto ISD (DSA) OR in chosen field or service area (HOF)


Minimum ten year continuum for DSA/ 5 year for Alumni HOF

11 – 12 year continuum for DSA/ 6 – 7 year for Alumni HOF

13 years or more continuum for DSA, 8 years or more for Alumni HOF

Presentation Ceremony
The awards will be presented at the DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor Awards portion of the End of Year Celebration event on May 13, 2023 at DeSoto High School.  The number of recipients each year will be determined by the vote of the Hall of Honor Selection Committee. Due to the nature of the award, the nominee does not need to be alive to receive the award. Please complete the nominating form as the nominator. Then thoughtfully and thoroughly complete the section regarding the nominee and their contributions to the district and society. Thank you!



2012 - Ellis Hobbs, III
2012 - Sgt. Jason Brown (posthumously)

2013 - Mark Brady

2013 - James P. Monkres, Jr.

2014 - David Plott

2014 - Casey Printers

2015 - Rachel Proctor
2015 - Mike Humphreys
2016 - Dr. Jelani Ingram
2016 - Warren Seay Jr. 
2016 - Rachel Thomas
2016 - Christopher Vinson (posthumously)

2017 -  Chief Fred Hart, Jr.

2017 -  Rick Jaffa
2017 - June Villers
2017 - Byron Hanspard, Sr.
2017 - Ro Parish

2018 - Von Miller
2021 - Zachary Orr
2021 - Amanda Sargent
2022 - Dr. Tiffany Clark
2023 - Corey Borner
2023 - Tiffany Jones
2023 - Dr. Carly Strasser


2012 - Laura Dooley
2012 - Dr. Janice Pettis Ingram
2012 - Judy Moss

2013 - Shirley Cooper

2013 - Frank Moates

2014 - Pamela DeBorde

2014 - Kathy Goad

2015 - Kathryn 'Kitty' Hickerson

2015 - Bill Hickey  (posthumously)
2015 - Melvlyn 'Sissy' Lowe
2015 - Dr. Peggy Trammell

2016 - Karen Daniel

2016 - Chris Dyer
2016 - Beth Wright

2017 - Lynne Kornegay

2017 - Mika Malone
2017 - Kanina Johnson
2017 - Aubrey C. Hooper
2017 - Sharon Sternes (posthumously)

2018 -  Dr. Cheyrl Ensley

2018 - Mayor Curtistene McCowan
2018 - Jan McDaniel

2019 - Coach Larry Goad

2019 - Howard McDaniel

2020 - Donald Gant

2020 - Linda Murphree

2021 -  Dr. Becky Sheppard
2022 - Larry Davis
2022 - Pamela Dawson
2022 - Karen Pittmon
2023 - Dr. Levatta Levels