DeSoto ISD 2024 Campus Teachers of the Year

DeSoto ISD Announces its 2024 Campus Teachers of the Year
Posted on 05/14/2024
This is the image for the news article titled DeSoto ISD Announces its 2024 Campus Teachers of the Year

The DeSoto Independent School District is proud to announce the district’s 2024 campus teachers of the year as nominated by their professional peers at each campus.

 The 2024 DeSoto ISD Teachers of the Year are as follows:

Early Childhood

  • Tiffany Moline, Amber Terrace Early Childhood Learning Center


  • Janice Washington, Cockrell Hill Elementary School
  • Irene Chaney-Babino, The Meadows Elementary School
  • Lauren Stewart, Frank D. Moates Elementary School
  • Monay Freeman, Woodridge Fine Arts Elementary

Specialized Learning (K-8)

  • Lakesha  Jackson, Katherine Johnson Technology Magnet Academy
  • Shandreneka Perkins, Ruby Young Talented and Gifted Academy

Middle School 

  • Ashley Simpson, DeSoto West Middle School
  • Mary Moore, Curtistene S. McCowan Middle School

High School

  • Nikena Madison, DeSoto High School

General (K-12)

  • Brent Taylor, DeSoto Alternative Education Program

The campus teachers of the year have the opportunity to compete for the district’s overall elementary and secondary teacher of the year award to be presented at the annual Cadence of Celebration, an employee awards and acknowledgment event held in May.