DeISD Announces Teachers of the Year Recipients

DeSoto ISD Announces Teachers of the Year Recipients
Posted on 05/25/2021
This is the image for the news article titled DeSoto ISD Announces Teachers of the Year Recipients

To inspire curiosity and consciousness, develop character, build courage, and nurture compassion is the vision of DeSoto ISD for every child and district teachers are a primary element by which this vision is realized. DeSoto ISD teachers work tirelessly each day to mold students and enable them to learn and grow at their highest levels and each year campuses have the arduous task of selecting one outstanding teacher to represent their campus as Teacher of the Year.

The DeSoto ISD Campus Teachers of the year are selected by their peers in recognition of their high performance, leadership, innovation, and engagement within their school community.

These teachers are subsequently invited to participate in the application process for the DeSoto ISD District Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year. The district-level winners will be invited to participate in the Regional Teacher of the Year contest. 

This year, DeSoto ISD is proud to announce the following DeSoto ISD Eagles as the 2020-2021 Campus Teachers of the Year.

Amber Terrace Early Childhood Discovery and Design Academy

Priscilla Bautista-Torres (PreK-4, Bilingual)

Cockrell Hill Elementary

Terrence Williams ( K-5, Physical Education Coach)

Frank Moates Elementary

Kristy Grimes (Fourth Grade, Team Lead, Self-contained)

Katherine Johnson Technology Magnet Academy

Latrisha Cameron (Fifth Grade, Mathematics)

Ruby Young Elementary

Christina Chavez (K-5, Computer Science)

The Meadows Elementary

Karen Fields (Second Grade, Self-contained)

Woodridge Elementary

Sherrin Womack (Kindergarten, Self-contained)

East Middle School

Tokewisha Allen (Math Interventionist)

McCowan Middle School

Geoffrey Stansberry (Sixth Grade, Mathematics) 

West Middle School

Leighanne Jones (SPED LifeSkills)

Desoto High School

Karen L. Brown (CTE Dept Chair/CTE Teacher)

District Alternative Educational Program (DAEP)

Tashica Miller (K-5, Elementary Teacher)

The district celebrated these educators for their excellence at the May 24th school board meeting and through social stories on the district’s Facebook, Twitter, and Youtube  pages.

During a reception held on May 24 in  honor of these outstanding district educators, DeSoto ISD announced the 2021 Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year:

  • 2020-2021 DeSoto ISD Elementary Teacher of the Year Ms. Karen Fields of The Meadows Elementary

  • 2020-2021 DeSoto ISD Secondary Teacher of the Year Ms. Karen Brown of DeSoto High School

Fields and Brown are invited to apply for the Region 10 Elementary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year Awards and are invited to attend the Region 10 Teacher of the Year Luncheon on Thursday, July 29, 2021, at Southfork Ranch.