Early Childhood Education

DeSoto ISD offers 2 early childhood programs, at Amber Terrace Discovery & Design Early Childhood Academy.   Our PreK 3 for children that will be 3 on or before September 1, 2020 and our PreK 4 for children that will be 4 on or before September 1, 2020. 

If you have any questions about our PreK 3 & 4 year old programs, please feel free to call the school at 972-223-8757.

Click Here to Register

 

State Pre-K 3 & 4  students based on eligibility - register online www.desotoisd.org   All online registrations are considered incomplete, until the following documents are provided to the school and registration papers are signed by enrolling parent/guardian.  

  • Child’s original copy of birth certificate (see below)
  • Child’s immunization records
  • Child’s social security card
  • Proof of residency (current water, gas, or electricity bill) and
  • Parent/guardian driver’s license
  • Registration is for eligible students as defined by the Texas Legislature.  

A child is eligible for, public Pre-K if the child is age  3 or 4 on or before Sept. 1 AND at least one of the following:

  • the family qualifies for free or reduced meal program 
  • is unable to speak or comprehend English; OR
  • is a homeless child; OR
  • is the child of an active-duty member of the armed forces or child of an active duty member of the armed forces injured or killed in the line of duty; OR
  • has been or is in the conservatorship of the state; OR
  • texas star award for first responders 

 

Texas Birth Certificates

With Pre-K and Kindergarten Roundup approaching, Texas.gov is reminding parents that they can go directly to  Texas.gov  and order a certified birth certificate for $22, the same price as a walk-in or mail order. This online service, offered in English and Spanish, provides parents with a straightforward, secure option for ordering their child’s birth certificate. The orders are fulfilled by the Texas Department of State Health Services.


Texas Education Code §29.153

Texas Education Code §29.153 states “a district shall offer prekindergarten classes if the district identifies 15 or more children who are eligible under Subsection (b) and are at least four years of age. A school district may offer prekindergarten classes if the district identifies 15 or more eligible children who are at least three years of age. A district may not charge tuition for a prekindergarten class offered under this section.”

In 2007, the Texas Legislature amended Section §29.153 of the Texas Education Code to include among those who are eligible for free prekindergarten, children who are in or who have ever been in the conservatorship of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) following an adversary hearing. This includes not only children who are in or who have been in DFPS conservatorship but also children who have been adopted or returned to their parents after being in DFPS conservatorship.

The district may not adopt a tuition rate for a pre-kindergarten program that is higher than necessary to cover the added costs of providing the program, including costs associated with collecting, reporting and analyzing data under Section 29.153 (c) and must submit the proposed tuition rate to the commissioner for approval.