Board of Trustees


What are the key roles and responsibilities of a school board?

  • Ensure creation of a vision and goals for the district and evaluate district success.
  • Adopt policies that guide district actions.
  • Hire a superintendent to serve as administrator of the district and evaluate the superintendent's success.
  • Approve an annual budget consistent with the district vision.
  • Communicate the district's vision and success to the community.

Board of Education Meeting Information

Second and fourth Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m.
(Some months may only have one combined meeting due to school breaks)
Dalton L. James Board Room, 200 E. Belt Line Rd., DeSoto, TX

Myra Rand  Senior Executive Assistant to the Board of Trustees
200 E. Belt Line Rd., DeSoto, Texas 75115
Phone (972) 223-6666 Ext. 492
Fax (972) 274-8209

Traditional Board Meeting Dates 2016-17

Twice Monthly (2nd & 4th of each month) Monday Except January (Midwinter), March, June, July, November, December). Sometimes June and July have called meetings or workshops because of the budget. Board Meetings start at 6:30 p.m.

 July 25  Frank Moates ES - Video only required; Pledge by Board
 August  8 Pledge done by Board
 August  22 Cockrell Hill ES
 September  12 DHS JROTC
 September  26 Northside ES 
 October  10 DHS JROTC 
 October  24 West MS 
 November  14 Amber Terrace Discovery & Design Early Childhood Academy 
 December  12 AEP/WINGS 
 January  23 Frank Moates ES 
 February  13 MS JSS Unit 
 February  27 DeSoto HS
 March  27 The Meadows ES 
 April  10 MS JCC Unit 
 April  24 McCowan MS 
 May  8 MS JCC Unit
 May  22 Woodridge ES
 June  12 East MS 
 July  24 Ruby Young ES 

When your campus is listed for the Board Meeting as the Highlighted School and Pledge Students, please provide the following in the 
time frame below:

  1. Highlight Video – about 2 minutes (No more than 3!) sent to Mrs. Trimble by 4 p.m. Thursday before the meeting (Check with your Asst. Supt. if they also want a copy).
    • The video should focus on high expectation and academics, as well as school/community engagement.
    • The format can be a link or actual video on flash or disk. You can use Animoto, video editing software, student created productions, etc.
    • Please review for content before submitting.
  2. TWO pledge student bios must be submitted to Myra Rand by 4 p.m. Thursday before the meeting so that certificates can be prepared for your students.

The Board may designate additional meetings as a work/study session. No vote will be taken at such sessions, and speakers will not be scheduled to address the board. Notice of any change in the meeting time is given 72 hours in advance.

Executive (closed) meetings of the board may be called to discuss personnel, real estate, litigation, negotiation, or hearings involving a student or an employee. No votes are taken in executive sessions. All meetings conform to the Open Meetings Law of 1973. 

Board Agendas

Board Agendas are posted and filed in compliance with the Open Meetings Law. The subjects to be discussed at each Board Meeting are listed on the agenda that is made part of the posting. Meetings will take place at the DeSoto Independent School District Board Room, 200 E. Belt Line Road, DeSoto, Texas. Agendas are available from the Board of Trustees Secretary, 972-274-8212 or online.

Types of Board Meetings

  • Regular Meeting: The DeSoto ISD Board of Trustees regularly meet on the second and fourth Monday of each month. Action may be taken. July, November, December, and March are usually scheduling exceptions because of holidays.
  • Called Meeting: A meeting held on a date other than the regularly scheduled meeting date. Action may be taken.
  • Executive Session/Closed Meeting: Not open to the public. Only certain topics may be discussed such as property and personnel matters. No action may be taken.
  • Workshop or Work Session: A meeting between board members and staff to receive information. No public input is allowed, and no action may be taken.
  • Public Forum or Public Hearing: A meeting for listening to public input on a specific topic or general information. This meeting may be held at individual schools or in the community or even within an existing Board Meeting when posted as such. No action may be taken.