DeSoto ISD announced teachers and employee of the year recipients

DeSoto ISD announced teachers and employee of the year recipients
Posted on 05/18/2017
This is the image for the news article titled DeSoto ISD announced teachers and  employee of the year recipients

DeSoto ISD recognized the 2016-17 district retirees and the teachers and employees of the year before announcing the DeSoto ISD Employee of the Year and Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year! The district teachers of the year will now compete in the regional competition in hopes of advancing to the state event. The district then announced the winner of a new award, the principal and assistant principal of the year.

In addition, the district presented service awards in five-year increments from ten years up, including eight 20-year recipients, two 25-year recipients, two 30-year recipients and a 35-year and 40-year recipient. The formal dinner held in the DeSoto High School Academy Cafeteria.

And the winners are:

  • Employee of the Year                        Dr. Lori Mathis, Principal Northside ES
  • Elementary Teacher of the Year       LaWonda Bluitt Williams, Ruby Young ES
  • Secondary Teacher of the Year        Angela Alexander, East MS
  • Assistant Principal of the Year         Whyndii Dunn, Woodridge ES
  • Principal of the Year                          Wesley Pittman, Frank Moates ES


Emory Price, Amber Terrace DDECA
Nancy Gonzalez, Cockrell Hill ES
Alicia Williams, The Meadows ES
Guadalupe Gaona, Frank Moates ES
Dr. Lori Mathis, Northside ES
Nikki James, Ruby Young ES
Lucia Martinez, Woodridge ES
LaMonica Cole, East MS
Shandreneka Perkins, McCowan MS
Tammie Barrow, West MS
Angela Lowe-Blade, DeSoto HS
Charles Dieterich, Plant Services
Brent Awalt, ISC


Joann Bouyer, Amber Terrace DDECA
Dawn Jennings, Cockrell Hill ES
Lydia Perry, The Meadows ES
Tiffanie Dawn, Frank Moates ES
Daniel Slider, Northside ES
LaWonda Bluitt Williams, Ruby Young ES
Kelli Davis-Lewis, Woodridge ES
Angela Alexander, East MS
Makayla James, McCowan MS
Darin Luman, West MS
Keshun Williams, DeSoto HS


Barbara Bailey, McCowan MS
Steven Baker, DeSoto HS
Marilyn Bates, McCowan MS
Karl Bieber, DeSoto HS
Joann Bouyer, Amber Terrace DDECA
Sandra Childs, Cockrell Hill ES
Charles Dieterich, Plant Services
Kanina Johnson, McCowan MS
Donna Kangas, West MS
Anna Lujan, Ruby Young ES
Patricia Martin, ISC
Lisa Noble, Woodridge ES
Susan Watts, DeSoto HS
Peter Weiss, Frank Moates ES