2018 DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor class

2018 DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor class
Posted on 05/02/2018
This is the image for the news article titled 2018 DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor class

Four DeSoto ISD educators, advocates, and alum who have impacted the world will be inducted into the DeSoto ISD Hall of Honor on May 4 as the Class of 2018! The list includes an NFL Superbowl MVP, long serving SD educators and the first female Mayor of the City of DeSoto!

The Hall of Honor Induction Ceremony will take place on Friday, May 4 with a reception beginning at 5 p.m. followed by the ceremony at 5:30 p.m. in the DeSoto High School Academy Cafeteria. Over 250 guests are expected to attend the event to recognize this year’s honorees.

The public is invited on an as available basis to the open reception and ceremony to celebrate our inductees.
Please call 972-223-6666 to RSVP.

DeSoto High School Alumni Hall of Fame


  • 2007 graduate of DeSoto High School
  • 2011 graduate of Texas A&M University - Bachelor of Science (Poultry Sciences) degree
  • Texas A&M Athletic Hall of Fame – second youngest inductee
  • Dick Butkus Award (best college football linebacker)
  • NFL 2011 draft – second overall to the Denver Broncos
  • NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year 2012
  • NFL Super Bowl MVP 2016
  • NFL Pro Bowl MVP 2018
  • DeSoto donations – football gear, special ed gear, Police vehicle, fire classes, back to school supplies and much more  

DeSoto ISD Distinguished Service Award


  • 1998 Doctor of Education from Texas A&M Commerce
  • Bachelor’s from Grambling, member of Grambling Alumni
  • Assistant Principal, Principal, Director, Executive Director and Assistant Superintendent in DeSoto ISD
  • Immediate Past President, Southwest Alliance of Black School Educators and past member of DeSoto Chamber of Commerce
  • Penned the DHS mantra “I Am DeSoto” recited daily, emphasizing personal accountability for all
  • Implementing principal for the WINGS (Where I Now Gain Success) recovery program & Academic Signing Day at DHS
  • Mother of two DHS graduate who are both in education (Principal and Teacher)
  • Visionary leader who inspires others to do their best


  • First African American elected to public office in DeSoto (1990 – School Board, served two years as Board President)
  • Dallas Baptist and El Centro graduate
  • Retired Federal Trade Commission Senior investigator (32 years)
  • Mother of two DHS graduates
  • Namesake for Curtistene S. McCowan Middle School
  • Texas Southern University Board of Regents – 2007 -2015
  • Advisory Board Member – (Currently Chair Elect) Methodist Charlton Medical Center
  • 39th President of the Dallas Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. (public service sorority)
  • First Female Mayor of DeSoto


  • Bachelor of Arts in Spanish from The University of Texas, Arlington
  • Masters in Spanish Linguistics from UTA and is certified in Spanish, English and ESL
  • Retired teacher after 47 years, 32 in DeSoto ISD
  • Mother of two DHS graduates
  • Began the dual credit Spanish program at DHS and taught the class for 15 years.
  • Alpha Delta Kappa (international sorority of women educators), serving as president, secretary, historian and treasurer.
  • Who’s Who in American Colleges and Universities
  • Distinguished Service Award, the Spirit of America Award, the Presidential Volunteer Service Award twice and has served over 1000 hours as a volunteer at the George W. Bush Presidential Library.
  • Spanish translator for DeSoto ISD and City of DeSoto elections
  • Mentor for DeSoto’s first year teachers for six years (2006-2012) through the district’s Coaches for Success program