Amber Terrace Discovery and Design

ATDDECA

 Amber Terrace Discovery & Design Early Childhood Academy

DeSoto ISD offers three early childhood programs, starting with an employee daycare from age 6 months through age 3, along with two Pre-K programs - one based on the state eligibility and one tuition-based.

Click here to Register for Pre-K and K

 School Hours Change for Amber Terrace: 

  • The program will follow the school calendar and the hours will be 7:45 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Tuition-based Pre-K Program - age 4

DeSoto ISD is offering a tuition-based Pre-K age 4 program for all children in DeSoto ISD boundary, plus children of employees, who do not meet the state eligibility for free Pre-K.

WHO CAN PARTICIPATE?

  • Student must be age 4 on or before September 1, 2015
  • Live within DeSoto ISD boundary (proof of residency required) or child of employee
  • Not eligible for state program based on income, non-English, or other criteria
  • Limited to space availability

HOW DO I SIGN UP?

  1. Complete the new student registration online at www.desotoisd.org
  2. Submit your $100 deposit online (click on DeSoto ISD Web Store) or bring a money order to 200 E. Belt Line Road by June 26
  3. Bring documents listed below to complete registration:

    • Child’s original copy of birth certificate (see below)
    • Child’s immunization records
    • Child’s social security card
    • Proof of residency (current water, gas, or electricity bill) and
    • Parent / guardian driver’s license

Tuition-Based Pre-K Details:

  • Program will take place at renovated Amber Terrace Discovery & Design Early Childhood Academy, 224 Amber Lane 
  • The program will follow the school calendar and the hours will be 7:45 a.m. to 3 p.m.
  • Before and after-school care available for an additional fee:
    Before-school care from 6:30-8 a.m. = $10 per week
    After-school care from 3:15-5:45 p.m. = $15 per week
    Both before and after = $20 per week
  • Annual tuition is $5,600, $100 deposit will be deducted from the total.
    Payment options - 1. Pay in full in advance and receive a $200 discount
    2. Pay each semester - save $50 per payment
    3. Automatic payment each month
  • No transportation provided for tuition-based or state Pre-K programs
  • Child-centered curriculum framework follows Texas Pre-K Guidelines and is aligned with Kindergarten Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS)

K-4 Tuition

State Pre-K 4 Program - based on eligibility, age 4

REGISTRATION

  • State Pre-K 4 students based on eligibility - register online www.desotoisd.org 
  • Then bring documents, May through August 19, 8 a.m to 4:30 p.m. each day admin. open, DeSoto ISD, 200 East Belt Line Road

Child’s original copy of birth certificate (see below)
Child’s immunization records
Child’s social security card
Proof of residency (current water, gas, or electricity bill) and
Parent / guardian driver’s license

Registration is for eligible students as defined by the Texas Legislature.  

A child is eligible for FREE, public Pre-K if the child is age 4 on or before Sept. 1 AND at least one of the following:

  • the family qualifies for free or reduced meal program (please fill out Child Nutrition application at 200 W. Parkerville before registering at school); OR
  • is unable to speak or comprehend English; OR
  • is a homeless child; OR
  • is the child of an active-duty member of the armed forces or child of an active duty member of the armed forces injured or killed in the line of duty; OR
  • has been or is in the conservatorship of the state

Texas Birth Certificates

With Pre-K and Kindergarten Roundup approaching, Texas.gov is reminding parents that they can go directly to  Texas.gov  and order a certified birth certificate for $22, the same price as a walk-in or mail order. This online service, offered in English and Spanish, provides parents with a straightforward, secure option for ordering their child’s birth certificate. The orders are fulfilled by the Texas Department of State Health Services.

Helpful video demonstration on how to order a birth certificate.


Texas Education Code §29.153

Texas Education Code §29.153 states “a district shall offer prekindergarten classes if the district identifies 15 or more children who are eligible under Subsection (b) and are at least four years of age. A school district may offer prekindergarten classes if the district identifies 15 or more eligible children who are at least three years of age. A district may not charge tuition for a prekindergarten class offered under this section.”

In 2007, the Texas Legislature amended Section §29.153 of the Texas Education Code to include among those who are eligible for free prekindergarten, children who are in or who have ever been in the conservatorship of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) following an adversary hearing. This includes not only children who are in or who have been in DFPS conservatorship, but also children who have been adopted or returned to their parents after being in DFPS conservatorship.

The district may not adopt a tuition rate for a pre-kindergarten program that is higher than necessary to cover the added costs of providing the program, including costs associated with collecting, reporting and analyzing data under Section 29.153 (c) and must submit the proposed tuition rate to the commissioner for approval.